2017 Word of the Year

Leave a comment

January 1, 2017 by taralynnehall

2016 was a hard year for a lot of people. War, depression, loss, struggling to make ends meet or make it out of bed in the morning. Regardless of how your year went, New Year’s Day is not a day for looking backward, but forward. Each January 1st presents a chance for a new beginning.

I believe in New Year’s resolutions. Not that we should make ourselves promises and forget about them until this time next year, but I think it’s good to take some time each year to evaluate your life. Where are you now? Where do you want to be? Dream big, and write it down. I like to revisit my goals every month or two, just to refresh my memory and see where I’m at. And I’ll be completely honest…I’ve never had a year where I felt like I had completed all of my resolutions by the end of that year.

I love the way my mom put it: something along the lines of “I may not be where I want to be, but thank God I’m not where I was.” Progress is progress, even if that progress is as simple as recognizing where your weaknesses are or where you could use some help.

The past couple of years, I have chosen a word to focus on during the year. This year, the word I have chosen is ADVENTURE. I think I’ve been avoiding this one for a while, because I see this particular word as more of a lifelong mentality, rather than a one-year focus. This year, however, I feel like we are on the precipice of great, yet unknown, things. I don’t know where life will lead us, but I know it will be a great adventure.

2017 Word of the Year - Adventure

(I also frequently have a theme song for the year. This year’s song is I Lived by One Republic.)

Leave a Reply

