Live a life worth talking about.

Leave a comment

February 15, 2016 by taralynnehall

I went to a memorial service this morning, for a man I have never met. (He worked with my husband; I wasn’t funeral crashing!) It was a tragic work accident that took a man too soon.

It was a crowded funeral—both the main chapel and the overflow room were packed with his family, friends, and coworkers. We listened to his pastor, wife, and several friends share stories about his life and their favorite memories of him. More importantly, I listened the whispered conversations of the people around me. I’ve always felt that those conversations give a better picture of who someone was while they lived. Give someone a microphone and they will dwell on the good things…talk to them personally and you might get a different story. As far as I can tell, this man was incredibly kind and caring, especially toward people (and animals!) who were down on their luck.

It’s events like this that really get me thinking. If I were to die tomorrow, what would people say about me? Not just the guy with the mic…all the people in the pews with bowed heads and whispers on their lips. Are they sharing funny stories? Talking about my quirks? Discussing what they admired most about me? Or are they whispering contradictions to the positive things being said on the stage?

I hope to live a life worth talking about for good reasons. And to be a little clichéd, I want to live that kind of life every day, because you never know which day will be your last.

Leave a Reply

