Up at 5: Why We Failed

Leave a comment

March 5, 2015 by taralynnehall

I am completing one challenge every month this year. You can read more about it here.

I can tell you I’m not a morning person, and if you know anything at all about me, you would believe it. My husband is a bit trickier; by necessity he is a morning person four days out of the week, but by nature he is definitely a night owl. However, that is not the reason we were not successful at our goal of waking up at 5 every day during the month of February.

The reason is also not that we have no willpower (see January’s challenge), or that we didn’t give ourselves enough reasons to want to get out of bed at the crack of dawn. We had those things. What we didn’t have was the “how.” I mean, sure, you set an alarm, you get out of bed, right? Wrong. At least, it is for me. I ignore, I snooze, I rationalize, I beg. Mornings are not my finest hour by a long shot. So for me, it might be more efficient if I stick to my night owl ways, at least for now.

The real key is that I learned my lesson. At 5 a.m., no amount of motivation leftover from the night before will overcome the lack of a plan.

Leave a Reply

