Up at 5: Weeks 1 and 2

Leave a comment

February 15, 2015 by taralynnehall

I am completing one challenge every month this year. You can read more about it here.

Last month was such a great success, and I was so confident that this month would be no different. I mean, I already get up at 5 at least three days a week. How hard could it be to do the same the rest of the week, right?

Wrong.

The plan was to get up at 5 Monday through Saturday, and 6 on Sundays. We didn’t even start until the 3rd of February, because of some late nights that we knew would be setting us up for failure from the start. After that, we have been discovering that “awake” does not mean “up.” We have had trouble with falling asleep again after we initially wake up at 5, mostly due to the fact that we don’t actually have to be anywhere, so we just stay in bed. In fact, we have started turning off our 5 a.m. alarms in our sleep, without even remembering it when our backup alarms go off an hour and a half later.

So here’s the new plan. Actually get UP at 5. I may have to write myself a to-do list every night, just so I have things I am supposed to accomplish the next morning, but I will do what I have to.

So far, I am not very pleased with the outcome of this month’s challenge, but tomorrow is a new day.

Leave a Reply

