No Junk Food January: The Aftermath

Leave a comment

February 10, 2015 by taralynnehall

I am completing one challenge every month this year. You can read more about it here.

January is officially over, and so our “no junk food” pact is null and void. I was feeling pretty good about how well we did, and I was optimistic about maintaining a low junk food diet from here on out. And I was looking forward to having some dessert. However, I was completely unprepared for what that little bit of dessert would do to me.

Our first evening, I had a single scoop of my favorite ice cream. That night, I was awake half the night, similar to a bout of sleepless nights I had early on in my sugar detox. Miserable.

The next day, I had a single cinnamon stick with lunch. Soon after, I had a terrible headache. A few hours later, I had a single brownie. Headache. A cookie after dinner. Headache. Since then, I have had other small desserts, and a variety of responses. Sleeplessness. Headaches. Stomach aches.

Needless to say, I think the “low junk food” diet will be easier to maintain than I thought.

Leave a Reply

