No Junk Food January

Leave a comment

January 31, 2015 by taralynnehall

I am completing one challenge every month this year. You can read more about it here.

For January, I decided to use the momentum and excitement of a brand new year to kick start the hardest challenge for me…no sugar. We ended up calling it “No Junk Food,” because we cut out a few more things than just sugar. Here are the things we avoided eating this month:

  • Soda and other sugary drinks, like Kool-Aid
  • Sweet treats, like cupcakes, ice cream, cookies, etc.
  • Fast food
  • Sugary syrups, like honey and maple syrup

We also tried to avoid fried foods, but that wasn’t as important as the rest.

The hardest thing at first was soda. I did have a few days of caffeine headaches, and even now I sort of crave a Coke every once in a while. But the important thing is that I learned to tell myself “no,” even when I really wanted one. The other hard part was trying not to be tempted by the impulse aisles in the grocery stores. It’s very easy to tell myself that I can definitely get that little thing of Nutella or those Zebra Cakes that I love, and it won’t be a big deal. But I did it! I made it a whole month.

I did cave twice. Once, for a dessert crepe at my favorite restaurant, Aviary Cafe…although I did get a fruit crepe instead of the salted caramel one I really wanted. I figured that was at least an improvement. The second time was a split dessert of zeppoli at Olive Garden, since we were out with a good friend and it was split 3 ways. Husband had a Dr. Pepper a few other times, but other than that, he did very well, especially considering he didn’t really want to participate in the first place. Haha.

Overall, I do actually feel better. After the first couple of weeks, the caffeine headaches and weird insomnia were gone. I actually do feel like I have more energy now than before. Also, without exercising or doing anything other than this challenge, I’ve lost several pounds this month, which is awesome and a great motivation to keep limiting my junk food intake.

I don’t intend to start drinking soda again. It very quickly escalates to an addiction, and it provides absolutely zero nutritional value. I do think I will have an occasional dessert, but I am going to try to keep it to special occasions…birthdays, date nights, celebrations, etc. And I will have maple syrup every once in a while too, because I just love pancakes.

I consider January a great success.

Leave a Reply

