World Map Wall

Leave a comment

January 12, 2015 by taralynnehall

Soon after I was laid-off last fall, I decided I would finally bite the bullet and paint the monstrosity that is our living room/dining room/kitchen. It took a couple of days, but I did it! And my crowning achievement is the world map that I hand-painted on the dining room wall. I think it’s beautiful.

I jerry-rigged a makeshift projector using a box and the bright LED light on my phone. I printed a world map, then traced it very carefully with permanent marker onto a clear page protector (you know, the kind that goes into a 3-ring binder). Then I taped my transparency onto the projector box, turned on the light, and got to tracing. After carefully tracing the whole map onto the wall with pencil, I painted it all in with paint just one shade darker that the color I had painted on the rest of the walls. The result was this beautiful, subtle world map on our dining room wall.

2015/01/img_2358.jpg

Leave a Reply

