2015 Word of the Year

1

January 11, 2015 by taralynnehall

I love New Year’s. The warm and magical feeling of Christmas gives way to the brilliant hope that comes with the beginning of a new year. With that hope deep in their hearts, people make promises to themselves and to others. I believe in making New Year’s Resolutions. In fact, I worked on my resolutions for about two weeks, writing them down, creating a plan for each of them. I fully intended to blog about those things, but instead I will blog about one word.

For several years, my mom has chosen a single word to use for the next year. A word to reflect on, to motivate and inspire, to pray over, and to drive her coming year. This year, I have decided to try it. It took a lot longer than I thought it would, and it was very difficult for me to choose. I wanted to make sure I chose a word I felt was God-given, but my mom gave me some great advice. She told me to choose a word that spoke to me, and just see how God chooses to use that word this year. So that’s what I did.

I have always been a bit of a big procrastinator. Over the last couple of years, I have gotten really good at not procrastinating work-related things, but personal things still get put off repeatedly. There are a lot of things that don’t get done because I say to myself “I’ll do it later” and then manage to talk myself out of it. Like joining a life group at church, or reaching out to someone, or working out.

I resolve this year to stop saying “later,” and start saying “now.”

Now - Word of the Year 2015

One thought on “2015 Word of the Year

  1. superbooruns says:

    love this idea!! 🙂 my word for the year is “cherish” but a phrase “cherish the now – this moment” sums up my thoughts.

Leave a Reply

