Our New Addition (No, it’s not a baby)

1

March 4, 2013 by taralynnehall

I am a sucker.

Let me explain. About a week and a half ago, on a Wednesday, I noticed a sweet little tuxedo cat hanging out around the back door of my office. He didn’t look very old, and he meowed a lot. I figured he belonged to one of the houses near the office. Little did I know that he had been hanging out around our office since Saturday.

When I came in on Thursday, he was still there. He even tried to follow me into the building. I talked to several co-workers to try and get them to take him home, but nobody could. So Thursday evening when I left, I stayed outside petting him for a while. He was thin and shivering, and tried to jump in my car several times. So I called my husband. I explained that I couldn’t just leave him there, the temperature was supposed to drop severely that night, and he was obviously already cold and hungry. I brought him home, with the intention of feeding him and giving him a warm place to sleep for a night or maybe two, and then finding somewhere else for him to go.

I had apparently forgotten that my husband is a Cat Person. Cat People get attached to cats. Quickly. Within just a few hours, my house had a litter box, cat food, and another resident. Honestly though, if I had realized how happy it made my husband to have a cat around, I would have brought one home ages ago.

He followed me everywhere outside the office.

He followed me everywhere outside the office.

We named him Jean-Luc. Or as Husband tells it, Captain Jean-Luc Picard.

He doesn't mind the dogs at all. Unless they are chasing him through the house.

He doesn’t mind the dogs at all. Unless they are chasing him through the house.

 

But the dogs don't like it when he takes their bed.

But the dogs don’t like it when he takes their bed.

 

And he sometimes gets mischievous and decides to pounce on the dogs.

And he sometimes gets mischievous and decides to pounce on the dogs.

 

I'd like to think he is one happy kitty.

I’d like to think he is one happy kitty.

 

One thought on “Our New Addition (No, it’s not a baby)

  1. Angie says:

    Awesome!! Hope he is happy with his new home.

Leave a Reply

