Let’s pack up and leave for California!

1

March 3, 2013 by taralynnehall

Last October (I know, it’s been forever), I flew out to LA to visit my friend Misty, and to bring her (and all of her things!) back to Missouri with me. She had lived out there for almost a year, and decided that California just wasn’t for her. You can read about her reasons for moving back here.

The plan went something like this:
Work a full day Friday, then take an evening flight to LAX. Spend no more than 24 hours sight-seeing, sleeping, and going to the San Diego Zoo. Drive back to Missouri by Sunday night so I can make it to work Monday morning.

Here’s the thing. Nobody knew Misty was coming back to Missouri except her family and myself. Normally, I would have flooded my Twitter stream with tweets about our roadtrip, but I couldn’t say anything that would give the surprise away. Instead, I just kept notes on all the things I normally would have tweeted. So here is my list of tweets and pictures, instead of an incredibly lengthy blog post about every detail of our trip. (Although some of these tweets do not fall in the 140-character limit, as I didn’t have any need to edit them down.)

We played life-sized Tetris this morning trying to get everything in Misty’s car.
We played life-sized Tetris this morning trying to get everything in Misty's car.

We made it to the San Diego Zoo!
We made it to the San Diego Zoo!

Misty’s GPS has trouble pronouncing most things. We just spent like 15 minutes laughing at the way it pronounced “Agua Fria Freeway Northbound.” And the fact that when I tried to repeat it, I got tongue-tied and said something like “Agua Norway.”

Driving through Arizona is apparently more dangerous than I expected. There is warning sign after warning sign. Watch for falling rocks. Watch for deer. Watch for rams. Watch for elk. Crosswinds. Steep downgrade.

Saw the Mexican border!
Saw the Mexican border!

Got stopped at a border patrol checkpoint. Giant police dogs and everything! We were concerned that they might think we had something hiding under the pile of things in the backseat, but there were no problems.

Stopped to get dinner at the first Cracker Barrel Misty has seen since we went to North Carolina in May.

Talking about heaven, I flipped my words around a bit. I said “Some days, I just tell myself chocolate is made up of heaven.” I meant that heaven is made of chocolate. Obviously.

Just saw a sign that said “Exit 11: Surprise.” I want to take the exit to see what the surprise is!

When we last noticed the weather, it was 8 p.m. and 70 degrees. We just stopped for gas and were very surprised to find that it is now 29 degrees. Welcome back Misty!
When we last noticed the weather, it was 8 p.m. and 70 degrees. We just stopped for gas and were very surprised to find that it is now 29 degrees. Welcome back Misty!

Misty just tried to put a hundred-dollar bill into a donation bin at a gas station. We would have been there for hours writing her name on a hundred tags for the wall.

We just saw some of the remnants of the Orionid meteor shower! (And obviously made lots of wishes.)

Sign: Meteor Crater 1 mile
Misty: I thought Meteor Crater was in Smallville?
Me: *blank stare*
Misty: But it’s–well, I guess it’s not really based on a true story…

Let me just tell you, New Mexico is FASCINATING.

Seriously. How is New Mexico even a state? There is absolutely nothing here.
Seriously. How is New Mexico even a state? There is absolutely nothing here.

Oklahoma has no welcome sign. You are not welcome.

Misty: Is that a castle?
Me: …I think it’s an outlet mall.

Going through Oklahoma City, and our GPS completely freaks out. I mean, it thinks we're driving in the river. In the midst of trying to open Google Maps on my phone, I saw a pretty thing and had to take a picture! #priorities

We finally made it back to my house in Springfield around 3 a.m. Whew!

One thought on “Let’s pack up and leave for California!

  1. Reblogged this on and commented:
    Exciting excerpts from our trip home from California on from my bff’s blog!

    Check it out!

Leave a Reply

